Ed Furshpan and David Potter Native American High School Program

About the Program

The Native American High School Summer Program is a three-week summer program for high school students from participating Native communities. Students, teachers, and community representatives come to Harvard Medical School to learn about the science of substance abuse and addiction.


NAHSSP is a collaborative effort among four Native communities and a group at Harvard Medical School. Each group of students is accompanied by two teacher/chaperones from their home community; these adults live in the same residence hall as the students and attend all Program sessions. In this intensive three-week program, students attend lectures, participate in small-group, case-based learning sessions, do homework assignments, and present a final project demonstrating what they have learned and how it might be useful to their home communities. There are also extracurricular activities designed to enhance group cohesion and reward hard work.

Summer 2020 Dates are  June 6 - 27, 2020.

Tribes participating: Fort Peck and Hopi


This program is supported by funding from the Division of Medical Sciences at Harvard Medical School and SEPA Science Education Partnership Award supported by the National Institute of Health.


The Ed Furshpan and David Potter Native American Education Program 2018

Application Information

Summer 2020 Dates: June 6 - 27, 2020


Applications are received through Fort Peck and Hopi High Schools only. Each community is responsible for their own application process. Please fill out the attached application and contact Jane Riccardi at Jane@hms.harvard.edu with any questions.


The 2020 deadline is February 15th, 2020.


Second Year Student Application


If you completed the first year of the program, apply to be a second year here.


Second year student application deadline: February 15th, 2020


2020 Chaperone Application


Chaperone application found here.


Chaperone application deadline: February 15, 2020.

© President and Fellows of Harvard College